What is Video to You?

Viewing 19 reply threads
  • Author

Video, primarily, appears to be a part time gig, hobby, labor of love, retirement income supplement, etc. for the vast majority. What’s it to you? Me? Video is 100 percent my living. No video, pay no bills, have no fun, purchase no equipment, software, hardware or supplies, eat no fancy meals, pay no insurance premiums, drive no car…

…get the picture? I am all video, all the time. Well, I am writing a number of fiction and non-fiction books. After all, I am a 30-year veteran career journalist and freelance writer. But, the business that puts food on the table is video.

This is what I market, if I want to make it. That, by the way, is my copyright marketing slogan: “If You Market, You Will Make It! copyright Earl Chessher, 1990-2008. At some point I will begin seeking an agent for my writing, but until then…

…video.

Any of you out there, is video your sole source of sustenance, income?

Participant

im in your boat earl.

Luis Maymi LopezLuis Maymi Lopez
      Participant

I love to do video, there are so many different things that can be done that are endless. I have take acting classes and done stage performances and is so different than a video production because of the simple fact that you can mess the lines and all that is need to do is “CUT, lets start again”. But in stage performances is you forget a line, your are totally ruined. Usually when I see a stage performances I always think of where should I put the camera and the angles and effects I want for the editing. And another thing is the endless scenarios that can be used and created in video productions. Of course, a great acting in a video is extremely important, but the magic is done in the editing, the music (without it a video production is almost nothing), the camera angles, the lights, etc.