What to charge videofilming bands in nightclubs

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’m new to this world of videography, but I do like it alot. In January of this year I bought a JVC Everio GZ-MG20u and have been taking it to our local jam sessions to include some medium size music shows. I usually get $15.00 for the finished DVD of these jam sessions. I keep the master and sell (when I can) to only the band members. Does anyone have any ideas about this type of videofilming? Precautions, what I could charge, ect.? Tomarrow night, I am supposed to film a guitar show. I have aggreed to receive $50.00 up front for the videofilming of it and give away free DVDs of the show. One for each band leader. Do you think that this is a fail price? I am finding it a bit tough to get some of these musicians to purchase their DVDs. Not selling to many since I now have masters of about 4 jam sessions and two band shows. Maybe the money will come later when word gets around a little more.
      Thanks,
      Mike

Inactive

Hey Hank,
      Thanks for that advise. I will check into those cards, but where should I check for them. Do you think that Office Depot, Best Buy, or Fry’s Electronics sell them? Then there is the question of “how I put video on these things”? Guess I’ll find out by digging in and finding out more about them.

It has resulted that Sunday nights gig only netted me less than minimum wage after time and materials was factored it. But maybe it will work out with some publicity through those of whom I shot footage for, eh?

Thanks again Hank

Inactive

Hi Hank,