What to Charge the Client

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

So, i didnt go to school for film, but its been a hobby for 6 years now. I’m pretty good based on feedback from friends and such. And I believe I have a an eye for direction. I work as a video editor at my church.

But recently have been thinking about doing extra-curricular sidework for additional income.

How does one go about to avoid being underpaid for my time and work, but also avoid be overpaid and under-delivering?

Whats a standard rate per hour? or per job? or per video? I know its gotta vary some.

Participant

There isn’t a standard. You shoud staff for some places for a few years to get a handle on the value of services. You can then go out on your own when you have a client following.

Check/research the pricing of comparable services you wish to offer currently being provided by others in your service area – price accordingly.

Price higher if you want to limit levels; lower if you want to increase levels.

You can compete based on experience and quality, or on price. It is said a client cannot get all three: Cheap, Fast & Good. In video production that might not always be the case. A LOT of people in this field underprice themselves based on the quality of their work and how quickly they can turn it out. Others? Don’t ask.

Anyway, checking your area video services providers and their pricing will get you an idea of the local market values.

Once there was a guy who was without heat in the winter andneeded his furnace fixed. He hired some old repairman to come to his house to look at it. The old repairman walked in, looked it over, and hit the furnace with a hammer. Suddenly, it sprang to life and started working.

The old repairman left and later sent a bill to the man for $400.00. Angry, the man called the old repairman. “All you did was hit it with a hammer! That’s not worth $400.00.I want an itemized bill!” he exclaimed.