What to charge for conference DVD

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

I’m a noob in the the business…sobare (bear?) with me here.

Willdo a video of a conference including twomorningspeakers (2 hours), afternoon breakout sessions (3 hours), late afternoon panel dicussions (1-2 hours).

Total content @ 7 hours.

How would I “slice and dice” this for sale to conference attendees and how much to charge for the dvd(s)?

Should be about 100-300 attendees.

Thanks for all the help in advance…

EarlC

I cover seminars and conferences based either on a flat daily fee, guaranteed sales or direct sales. Direct sales is, essentially, a “speculation” approach and I rarely offer this one unless attendance is estimated at 1,000 or more.

The most popular is more or less a “work for hire” but not really, in that the organizing group guarantees to purchase, say 300 copies, and I shoot, edit, produce and deliver them at a cost-per-DVD. That cost is based on numbers for me, with 100 or less at $25 each; 100-200 at $20; down to $10-$12 for 500 or more.

I have occasionally charged a flat daily fee based on my standard $100 per hour rate $1,000 for 10 hours or less, then hold a six-week “sales” period where I obtain a list of attendees, and/or the organizing group provides advance, at event and post event promotion of the DVDs being available by a professional video producer. This is popular because I can offer the DVDs at up to $15 or so, either FOB or drop off all orders to a central location or, if the company insists, work out some direct-mail fulfillment with them providing the mailing labels and a check-list.

Going in as a newbie it is easy to shaft yourself because you cannot know all the potential things that can crop up on you. Even with experience I have to say that the unexpected ALWAYS happens and rarely is production, delivery and sales of such programs a “piece of cake.”