What should I charge?

Viewing 23 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello! I found this forum on Google and I’ve seen lots of experienced people giving their advice here, so I thought I would try it out!

I usually charge $100/min of edited footage when I make promo or recap videos. (So a 5 min video = $500). That’s perfect for my target audience and the kind of videos I make. However, I was recently approached with a project that I am unsure how to price. Here are the details:

8 to 10 videos at 15-20 minutes each. The content is educational lecture. We’ll probably spend a day (8 hours) filming all the videos, then my guess is that it will take about 60 hours of editing to get everything put together within the next 3 months (I’m a college student with classes so yes, it will take that long). With my *usual* pricing formula, the quote could be like $15,000!!! And that’s way out of my client’s budget. I understand that the editing for these videos will actually be minimal compared to my usual work :::::: https://vimeo.com/17085389 ::::: so it will cost less. But I also don’t want to be taken advantage of.

If you need to know anything else, please let me know! Other than that any advice is very appreciated πŸ™‚

-Kolyssa

Mike WilhelmMike Wilhelm
    Keymaster

Have you considered coming up with an hourly rate as opposed to a per-minute finished rate? Check out this rate calculator:http://freelanceswitch.com/rates/

I’d say $50-$100 /hour would be a reasonable rate, depending of course on what equipment you’re using.

Inactive

@Mike, That’s a brilliant website! Thanks for the link! I’ve always been slightly opposed to hourly rates only because I was living in a college dorm and my hours would often be interrupted by roommates or other things. But now that I have my own office space I think you’re right, I should consider that! I think $50/hour sounds reasonable… here’s my equipment list:

Panasonic GH1 with multiple lenses

Canon 550D with multiple lenses