What Laptop to Buy.

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hey guys I’m thinking of buying a new laptop and need some help and reccomendations.

I’m a Television Broadcasting Student and I will pretty much be using every multimedia software you guys use for the next 2 years on this laptop; FCP (mac only, I know), AVid, Protools, Adobe CS3/4, 3d Studio Max just to name a few. I know you guys will probably tell me to go for a desktop but I do a lot of editing on the fly (yes 2 hour bus rides to and from school) and i already have 2 old desktops at home.

I was leaning the 15″ macbook pros at 2.53Ghz (might get the 2.8ghz) which runs at about just under $3000 however I’ve always been a PC and only have used macs at school but i’ve been slowing coming around since I got an Ipod Touch for christmas. One other reasone I’ve been looking at the MB Pros is that I will HAVE to do most of my video editing on FCPro for the next 2 sems, and The real selling point for me is that I can Also install Win XP with bootcamp. I don’t want to have to buy a PC laptop with Vista preinstalled (.. but if i must..).

What do you guys think, Should I buy the 15″ MB Pro (Convince me not to). If i do should I get the the 2.53ghz or the 2.8ghz for $278 more. I also want this to last me for at least 3.5 years, ideally 5 or even 6.

If not a MBP then what laptop do you specifically recommend that will last me for the next 4years. Should I get one with Quad core? I’ve been browsing a lot of PC laptops but I really dont know which one to get.

Im looking at the price rage of about $2000 or under but will consider anything up to$2800

Keep in mind I may also be doing some gaming on it but it’s not at all a priority.

Inactive

anyone?

It’s the weekend mate, give people some time to respond.

Me personaly i would get a Hal 9000

Inactive

haha isn’t that 8 years outdated.

Gal,