What exactly is meant by a HD Camcorder?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Lately I notice that some Camcorders are described as HD while others are called HDV. I thought, probably wrongly, that HD meant that the camcorder had a Hard Drive (as opposed to a tape or DVD) and that HDV meant that it could record in High Definition. I have been confused by recent reviews in Videomaker so I would like this clarified please.

Inactive

Short answer: It really depends. Every manufacturer has their own jargon

Not-so-short answer: I used to work as a retail store manager at a store that specialized in men’s big & tall clothing. Inevitably, some poor wife, sister, or whomever, would be given the responsibility for coming into our store to buy clothes. In most cases, these women would come up to me with a confused look, because the man who sent them said that they wore an extra-large, and on our shelves, we had shirts labeled XL, 1X, 1XL, XLB, and 1XLB. Invariably, they wanted to know what these codes all meant, which one was the same as "extra-large", andwhy they all looked to be the same size.

The explanation I had for them is the same one I have for you. Every manufacturer has their own way of labeling their product. In the world of video, HD and HDV both mean that the camcorder can record in high definition video. Typically, these cameras can record in 1080i, a super-high definition format that can be watched on the new High Def TV’s, assuming you have a way to get the footage there (Such as a blu-ray or hd-dvd drive).

Cameras that have an internal hard drive will usually be listed as HDD camcorders. Note the extra "D", referring to the Hard Disk Drive that is inside. As a rule, I tell people to avoid HDD camcorders, as they often compress footage to the point of being near useless for editing.