Wedding Prints fom HD Video?

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Well, as always I am trying to justify my purchases a few yeras out best as possible. I have been a wedding photographer for about 15 years and Video about 10 years. My thoughts are why cant we shoot video and pull frames from it to print out photos for the Bride & Groom? Are we not quite there yet resolution wize? I am gearing up for a sony nx5 vdeo cam and it would be nice to offer both as I am limited to two hands. Not to mention I also do DJ..Thats another whole subject.. πŸ™‚

Harry

Participant

There are many ways to do that.

1) you can geta video converter.

try this one: http://www.dvdvideosoft.com/guides/free-video-to-jpg-converter.htm

2) You can buy a printer capable of running movie to still software

try this one: http://www.canon.ca/inetCA/products?m=gp&pid=4574 It runs Full HD Movie Print software

there are other ways as well but this seem to be the cheapest and the easiest

Participant

VLC-

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Will play back ANY video format. As the file is playing you can alter the play back speed (turn volume off unless you like thechipmunksor scary deep long voices) Anyway when you find the frame you want pause it and take a videosnapshot. The menu at the top allows you to alter the setting of the snapshot etc. You also do not have to pause it, you can takesnapshotson the fly, they will be in focus. The snaps of VLC are only as good as the video footage. Your footage bad you snap bad, you footage good you snap good. I have been using snaps of my footage for stills from VLC for years and no one is the wiser. In fact I have been asked how on Earth I got some of the shots. Never tell as the raven said. (I hate that story scars me). After you get your snaps pull them into a photo editor to fix anything you think needs fixing. I use Picasa if it is an easy fix because Picasa is fast and easy. but for the more complicated fixes I use Corel Paint Shop Pro.