Ways to expand?

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello everyone!

This is my first post, and I am going to begin by telling you a little about myself. I have been doing video production (in some for or another) since I graduated college in 2001. Two years ago, I got laid off of my job (along with the entire video team) and decided that I wasn’t the biggest fan of “working for someone else”, and I, along with 1 partner started our own production company.

The first year and a half, as could be expected, was soul crushingly slow and unproductive, but as time progressed we were fortunate to get some work here and there. We are now producing 3-4 :30 second commercials per month. While that is MUCH better than when we first started, it is not nearly enough to survive. Let me explain how we got this work. We were on a listserv, and as far as we could tell were one of the most inexpensive companies around. We were not getting work, I think, because the agents selling the work had never heard of us. We decided to cut our prices in half for the last quarter of the year, and, as we expected the calls began pouring in. But now, as our rates are expected to rise to normal in JAN, we are a little worried the calls are going to stop.

Now for my question. I am looking for different ways to either gain more clients, advertise our services, etc. Is there any advice people who have been doing this for some time can give? I will be grateful for any tidbits of info.

Thank you in advance!

Matt

Luis Maymi LopezLuis Maymi Lopez
      Participant