Watch my video and give me a critique?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I just finished a quick video for my hold high school that I graduated from in ’05. It was all shot by me with my GL2. Let me know what you think. It’s a kind of low on quality though because of compressing for myspace.

http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=2104646723

Participant

The film held my attention was crisp and well paced. I think it would improved by adding appropriate titles for the viewers that are not familiar with the content.

Inactive

Nice piece. Very professional. Could run very close to as-is as a featurette on local TV in many major markets (i.e., large cities).

Last shot (freeze frame) was awkward; not worthy of the rest of piece.

Do you have permission for the music. I know; everyone steals ST materialfor MySpace and the like. Having acorporate lawyer (hired by a rich band) come after you for 500K or so could be a life changing experience, if you were to use the copyrighted material in an exploitive way (i.e., try to make $25 worth of income with the piece).

Not bad for a GL2. Gym shots would have more saturation/zest with a Sony2100. Also, while the gym look is fine (everthing in amber/ocre), experimentation with white balance might havegiven a more eye catching result. (Not saying, more realistic; saying more eyecatching. BTW, 99% of all TV commercials (not shot on cheap budget locally) favor eyecatching over realistic.)

The Asst Coach cutaways werenot as strong as the other interview bits. A bitof mumbling. And what he said maybe he could have said better with a little help fromthe “director” !!!

Do more more more of these and you can make a mark out there.

REGARDS … Thom

Participant