Want to step into the pro sumer market…… I think??

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Want to step into the pro sumer market…… I think??

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

How are you guys and gals doing? Newbie here. I have shot many home movies on normal home camcorders(son and daughters sports and performances) and Im kinda tired of the “home movie” look. So my question is, is it worth spending the money on an entry level pro sumer camera? Does the camera alone change the look of the movie or am I going to have to put in hours of post production time on the computer to make it look a little more professional? I dont need it to look like monday night football but it would be nice if it looked a little more quality. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Participant

CaseyD35

I have seen videos shot on consumer camera’s with no budget that look like they came out of a high dollar production house. It means that the user found a way to get the most out of the camera.

The advantage to a prosumer camera is that, generaly speaking,you get more manual control over the camera which can mean less tweaking in post if you can get the shot you want.

A lot of other factors go into a more professionallook, a good camera can help you over come some dificult situations with the ability to make manual adjustments but, that alone does not keep video form looking like home movies. From the way you framed your question I think you need to decide what you want to achive and then decide if a prosumer camera makes sense for you.

Participant

well my ultimate goal is to film my families activities without them looking so home movie. and eventually i would like to mess around editing with video, but strictly as a hobby and for fun.