Visual Effects Schooling

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hey guys, I was wondering if any of you can help me out. I am about to start my final semester in college and get an associates in Television and Video Production. I am not bad at what I do, I do have two awards under my belt, and really nice resume. I was a student teacher at a local High School, teaching advanced Television skills such as chroma key and some advanced editing. I enjoy the work I have done and the little bit of freelancing I have been able to do. But my true passion lies withing Digital effects, However After I get my Degree in television I want to go to school for VFX, and I am having trouble deciding what school to go to. I could go to the local Tech school for 3d animation, but I think i want something a little more involved and geared toward VFX. So I looked in to Vancouver Film School and it seems amazing but a little out of my budget. I looked at Art Institute of Phoenix and its more along my price range but I don’t know If its what I am looking for. I know for a fact that I do not want to go to Full Sail because I hear the job placement is less than par. So my question to you is what are some good schools to go to. I am not really looking for a traditional college like UCLA but at this point, I am worried more about my education and not type of school. I am open to all suggestions, I would honestly prefer something in or around the Midwest because it is close to home, but like I said right now the education is more important than the location. Thank you all for your time and help, sorry this was a bit long, but I feel its easier to help me if you know a little about me.

Participant

“I looked at Art Institute of Phoenix and its more along my price range but I don’t know If its what I am looking for.”