Video or Photo

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hey everybody, just discovered the website. I’m Eric

I consider myself as a digital artist and do a lot ot media (graphic, photo and video). I have more than 5 years and I have directed 5 music videos…I just got in Chicago to actually study my passion and earn a degree since there is no school for that in my country (Benin, Western Africa). I hold a degree in communication and advertising but that was just too much theory…

Here is the fact:

I use to work as digital media technician in the creative department of an advertising/production agency back home. I did a lot of designs for print, motion graphics and editing and photography. I was really proud back then since i had access to equipment and studio.

Here I am now, and is struggling to pay my studies. I have decided to buy either a semipro camera and a camcorder and other accessories. but I can only buy one thing at a time.

I know there is a lot of people here who do both Photo & Video. I would like to know which market will help me make enough money to buy the rest of the equipment.

I also would like to know if I SD is still around in the US video production because in Africa or rather in my country it is really rare and considered a luxury. I already own what i think is a good computer to do some work and is setting up my website.

All support will be much appreciated (www.sericdossou.com)

Thanks

The only area I feel comfortable responding, or have any concept of the right answer, is what to go with first. I believe, especially in the market area you will be operating, that photography would prove your best “quickstart” in both acquiring business, marketing your services and experiencing solid initial growth.