Video Editing. where to begin?

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi. I am wanting to start a Video Editing business like filming weddings and special events and making wonderful edited DVD’s of the events. Plus converting VHS tapes onto DVD’s with special editing like Fade In/Fade Out, Screen Titles, Credits like listing names of the people in the videos, Slow Motion scenes, adding Photos within the Video, making Slide-Shows, adding Music, having Voice Narration, etc. etc. etc.

I am having a PC built since my current PC is rather old and I do not have a DVD burner.
      The manufacturer knows what I’m wanting to do but they want to know just exactly what all I’m going to need before they start building my PC. So that’s why I created this thread. I am rather new to DVD’s and CD/DVD burning. So if you could reply in layman terms, I would gladly appreciate it.

My PC will have the following:

AMD AM2 Sempron 3000+ processor (plenty of speed).
      More than 512MB RAM. I will at least double that so memory shouldn’t be an issue either.
      A larger Hard Drive than their usual 80GB.
      52x32x52 Cd Burner / DVD Drive (Drive D)
      I will also get a DVD Burner (Drive E) but might need some product info from yall since this will be my main Drive for burning the DVD’s.
      There’s much more my computer will have but not going to list everything to save space on this post.

Ok I know about getting a Capture Card and what I’m wanting is Capture Card that will be (1) internal, (2) be able to capture video from Camcorders, VHS player, etc. (3) have Firewire input (4) Analog inputs RCA & S-Video, (5) and capture TV signals with coaxial inputs and include TV outputs.