Video Card recommandations…

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi!

I’m a videographer, not a professional one, but I make some money here and there with little contracts for videos/documentaries. I don’t make millions, but around 2000$/year in jobs.

What would you recommand in terms of video card (graphic card) for my computer ?

People recommanded me nvidia and ATI. I’d like to know what you guys who work “in the business” think about it. I have some budget (up to 500$) for the card.

Also, is 512MB the standard in the industry ?

I would also love to have an output for HDMI on the card. Is it possible ?

Thank’s for any input!

Jean

Inactive

Jean,

Since it’s been over a year since I last bought a video card, I’m not up on the current models. But ATI and nvidia have always been good cards. You should probably get a card that plugs into a PCI-Express slot in your computer. I’m using an ATI with 256MB, but then I’m only doing standard def. Since you mentioned HDMI, I assume you’re gearing up for high def. Probably 512MB would be good for that. For an HDMI port, I think you need to get a special interface card from BlackMagicDesign or AJA (in addition to your regular video card).

Other things to consider for high def are plenty of system RAM (many recommend 2 MB, some say 4MB for optimal performance), a separate hard drive for the video files (some say to get a RAID array of hard drives to handle the high bandwidth, but I think that’s mostly for capturing HDMI high def directly from the camera to the computer).

Good luck,

Ken Hull

Participant

Thank you very much Ken!

Is there any difference between PCI & PCI Express ?

Yes, you are right, I’m gearing up for hi-def. I recently did a documentary shot with my very good (but not HD) camcorder (Panasonix PV-GS300) which I simply love, but once I saw the result on my HD TV, I wanted to throw it away! I’ll let few months go by to see the prices going down on HD Camcorder.