Vegas Pro 8 — newbie question — “Pre-rendering” ?

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Editing Vegas Pro 8 — newbie question — “Pre-rendering” ?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi, apologies for the very basic question.

I am new to Vegas Pro 8. In it, I have placed a clip on the
      timeline; then copied it, placing the copy in the same track,
      immediately after the original. I have then reversed the copy.

Playback of the original is fine, but when the playhead reaches
      the reversed copy, it is choppy.

I notice that on the timeline, above the copy, there is a blue
      line. From my experience with Adobe Premiere Elements, this
      means a clip which has had FX (such as reversal) applied needs
      to be pre-rendered for playback to go smoothly. In that
      application, you do this by pressing Enter.

Is that what the blue line means in Vegas? At all events, how do
      I make playback of the reversed clip smooth? The help file
      suggests that to “pre-render” I press Control + M; but when I do
      this, I get a dialogue asking me what file format I want to save
      the clip as, as though it thinks I want to export a finished
      clip. I don’t, I just want playback to be smooth so I can
      continue editing.

What do I do?

I would be grateful for any advice.?

Inactive

I am not too sure about the blue line situation, I can’t seem to replicate that in Vegas 6.0. But the pre-render thing is easy enough to explain. As you may already know, an NLE creates a sort of instruction list for creating a video. So it contains a lot of instructions like, play from XX to YY, use effect A to transition from XX and RR into YY and SS. You get the idea. So as long as your processor can keep up with any effects you may have added, everything is smooth. But as you noted, the playback gets rough when too much is going on.