Using Vegas 4.0 Need help with balancing soung

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Sound Using Vegas 4.0 Need help with balancing soung

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I am new at this and I use mic on one camera, wired up mic on another camera, plus music and the music is nice and even, then I barely hear mic on one camera then the other camera blars sound very loud and the people who I video for have to keep turning the volume up and down the whole time they watch the video I have sound forge 7.0 but I really have no idea how to use it. Help!!!

Inactive

Basically, you just need to watch the levels and check out your waveform. Vegas (of which is my editing software of choice) allows for envelope edits for audio. Do a search in the help about envelope edits. Tune down the load part, tune up the quiet part and make sure none of the volumes make your mixer levels go red. It’s really all about art. Just make sure that you know your max volume in your video, and then base all your sound around it. Raise the quiet portion (but be careful, sometime noise results, of which can be cleaned up in Sound Forge…i think. I know i can in Audition).

Have fun!

Inactive

Use the Normalize utility in Sound Forge not the Volume utility to fix your problem.

Normalization is nothing more than changing the volume levels. The Normalize utility gives you two (2) volume readings Peak and RMS. The RMS level tells you what the basic loudness is; the Peak level tells you how much you can change things.