Using Commercial Music and Insurance Question

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Sound Using Commercial Music and Insurance Question

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi,

I’m really new to this and have two questions.

Can commerically available music be used on video photo albums or other types of video productions, like home movies? If so, how can that be done properly? If not, what are the alternatives?

Along these same lines, what types of liability/insurance coverage should a videographer have?

Are there any good sites with information pertaining to these topics?

Thanks,

Donny

Participant

This would also apply to images by professional photographers that had been sent in by clients also correct?

Thanks!

Donny

Participant

Hi,

Thanks so much for the information. I certainly appreciate it. My question was in regard to someone sending me pictures to put in a DVD photo album for them and also them requesting certain commercial music be set to it. If I’m charging for this service, then these two things would be no-no’s, unless I have written permission from the copyright owner of the pictures/music…that would be correct right?

Thanks!

Donny

Participant

Unfortunately, just because you have bought and paid for the music doesn’t give you the right to copy it onto any other medium, whether for profit or not. To do it properly you would need to purchase a sync/mechanical licence – depending on whether you are in the US or Europe.

If you have made money from the act of copying commercial material and effectively redistributing it then you would be liable regardless of your contract with your client. The chances of getting caught are of course slim but that’s copyright law.

Sorry! πŸ™

Colin

Participant