URGENT Christmas buying help on camcorder and editing software

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Cameras and Camcorders Other Camcorders URGENT Christmas buying help on camcorder and editing software

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am a newbie looking for some help.

I amlooking to get a camcorder and some editing software for my teenage daughter. She has been making do with a little sure shot and has made some cute videos. She has a pc running Vista and is using the limited video software that comes with it.

I was considering Magix Video proX and a camera in the 300-500 range. Do I have to get mini DV, or can I go with a flash or some other other memory and still get easy upload and editing? I want relative ease of use for both, firewire plus USB, and longish batt life.

What kind of camera/software to do you recommend? And, I need help quickly as Xmas is HERE!! Thanks.

Participant

I’d say that you must first understand general characteristics of camcorder recording mediums. MiniDV records in the simplets video format (yet the highest initial quality) of DV-AVI, which is the most universal of all formats in terms of compatibility with editing software. Importing your clips via Firewire which will probably be the most cumbersome of all your worries. HDD (hard disk drive) camcorders generally allow the longest recording time due to their large capacity, yet they are ultra-compact. Flash memory camcorders use separately purchased SDHC memory cards (some camcorders include them). The recording time, however, doesn’t extend very high until you start purchasing the 16 GB or higher memory cards that currently aren’t the cheapest things to buy. You should also realize that all non-tape mediums record MPEG-2, H.264 (AVC), or AVCHD (if it’s High-Definition). Depending on the type of editing capabilities, your software will need to support the proprietary format.