Upgrade Info PLEASE!! Want new camera or cameras..

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Upgrade Info PLEASE!! Want new camera or cameras..

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello All, I am a forum newbie, But I have been shooting weddings since vhs camcorders came out. I currently use vx2000 sony and Gl2. I haven;t kept up with current trends as I also shoot photography and do some DJ work..Yes I am spread thin..My question for the more knowledgable than I is…what would be a good camera or 2 to jump up from my current? my prefs..HD, full size if available,Mini DV.

manual as well as auto settings. I don;t know what pricing is like these days but I would like to stay under 3 k ea.? doable? My local seller says the new vx2100 But I really would like a larger shoulder heft model?? or do I? :-)(

Thanks for any feedback…Harry

Participant
      Inactive

One more topic to discuss…Would I get better quality shooting and editing in HD and then converting to sd at mix? Or stick with SD hi end cameras and see it through to the end????

Harry

Participant

Technically, shooting and editing in HD and then down-converting to SD for delivery will give you better results than just shooting strait SD because when it comes to the compression stage, you are starting with more information. However,I think this whole situation depends on how skilled you are and how good your equipment is.

My one engineering teacher said he has shot very good SD that looks comparable to HD. He claims the key is to have a decent camera body (I believe in his example he mentioned Ikegami) and high quality lenses from manufacturers like Zeiss, Schneider, Fujinon, and Canon. Also, you can’t just get good equipment and expect to have awesome results either. You’ve got to know how to light as well.