trying to buy a system and not go broke…

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am a novice editor who is looking for a system that will grow with me. I’m not looking for a hobbyist’s system. I’d like something with which I can eventually produce a professional looking reel. That said, I’ve been thinking Apple–Mac Pro, maybe mac Book Pro. Expensive, but are they worth it? What kind of specs should I be looking for? In other words, help is needed.

Thanks,
      Gabe

Participant

I would recommend figuring out which software you are most comfortable with first and then figure out if a Mac or PC is better for that software. Click on the downloads page here, there are a ton of links to demo programs.

Personally I’m going Adobe all the way. My boss is buying the entire Adobe Master Collection pretty quick and I can’t wait.

Inactive

with macs, it’s all about maxxing out the ram (on the mackbook pro, the mac pro holds lotz more than needed fo editing).
    I’d go with mackbook pro. i’d go with firewire 800 or 400 external drives (lacie makes a tough, bus powered unit).
    then choose software..fce, fcp, or adobe…
    apple keeps thier laptop line ups simple…there’s lttle you can customize…almost any changes would be a "downgrade" when it’s got goods right outa the box. add as much ram as will fit.

Participant

As it stands going with anything but a mac only limits you as far as software goes. The mac can run FCP, AVID, Premiere. A PC cannot run FCP. Not to mention the fact that the mac can run windows too. Any of the current Macs are great for editing. Hell I even use a little Mac Mini for capturing and light editing when my bigger systems are busy. The are all plenty fast. The Mac Pro is more expandable though. Also a tip if your a student you can pay a hundred bucks and join the Apple Developer Connection, and the give you a huge one time discount on a hardware order. It could save you up to 600 bucks on a mac pro or mac book pro.

Participant