Trimming and Quality Problem

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi Guys,
      I am a total novice so forgive the ignorance. Here are 2 of the problems I am facing with my new Adobe Premiere Elements 8.

1. I don’t know how to trim (not sure if this is the right term) my videos. I don’t want to portray the whole screen captured but just a part of it. Eg. I took a video but I just want to focus the upper left side. How do I cut out the rest of the unwanted area?

2. This is my biggest problem. When I import my high quality .AVI files into APE8, the video quality goes down extremely. The pixel size as well as the whole picture quality is lowered. I tried rendering each video in the timeline but didn’t help. How do I get over this?

Thanks in advance.

Participant

Hi,

I think you may be looking for the crop effect. Apply the crop effect to your clip and you can adjust what part of the frame is cut out and what part remains.

What is the source of the avi files? Not all avi files are compatible with Premiere Elements. There are many codecs that use a AVI wrapper, such as MJPEG and DIVX. Premiere ELements works best with DV-AVI captured from a DV Camcorder via Firewire.

Here are some good free tutorials on getting started with Premiere ELements, Basic Training;

http://muvipix.com/products.php?subcat_id=44

Participant

1. Getting new to the production vocabulary isn’t always easy. The proper name of the function you want to perform would be to “crop” the image. Premiere Elements may or may not have a function to do so.

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/PremiereElements/7.0/WS44DE71A2-B004-4103-BD28-54BB1BB42A27.html