Training Development for Profit?

Viewing 28 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

As a newly minted “Forum Host”, I would like to offer a topic some of you may find useful.

For a short while, I used to create aircraft maintenance training. It’s actually why I started shooting video. I was a noncommissioned officer in the USAF, stationed at Travis AFB, CA. During the transition from 35mm slide projectors to computers our old training programs were abandoned. This concerned me so much I taught myself how to create CBTs. In the U.S. military we have regulations and standards for everything. I used Instructional Systems Development guidelinesto create programs thatwere used to train new aircraft mechanics for certain tasks.

Ilearned that the field of CBTs was burgeoning with high-priced software. This is still true today. However, I discovered a video game creation program that did the trick. It was called “Klik and Play”. It took me a while to learn this program but the results were extremely satisfying. Since then, I’ve graduated to Multimedia Fusion Developer 2.A fewproblems I have is that I haven’t been able to teach myself how to utilize shareable content (SCORM) or how to link test results with a database (online or otherwise).

My point here is, you too can create training. Here’s a link to the software I use: http://www.clickteam.com/website/usa/index.html

How many of you have attempted to create training, either computer-based (CBT) or stand-alone video?

If you create CBTs, what software do you use?

Participant

I did a few training vids several years ago – I used Camtasia Studio to record the PC screen and Vegas to edit and add voiceover.

Participant