Total Noob Questions Regarding the Switch to HD Production

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion Total Noob Questions Regarding the Switch to HD Production

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hey…long time lurker…first time poster!! I did a search on this topic but didn’t find any answers that addressed my questions. (Mods…please provide a link or merge me into the proper thread if need be).

My question has to do with the transition from being an SD miniDV production to an HD miniDV production facility.

I currently shoot on SD miniDV with a Canon XL1…I have a SD Panasonic miniDV deck that I use to ingest my footage into my Mac G5 (and an external LaCia drive)…and I edit on Final Cut Pro…then we output the finished product back to SD miniDV tape…OR…we author a DVD via DVD Studio Pro…which is finalized in Toast for easier duplication.

Currently, we are investigating switching from SD to producing in HD. We are looking at buying a Panasonic HVX200 camera.

Questions:
      1. What will I need to upgrade in order to achieve the best possible HD product?
      2. Will I also need an new HD deck for encoding and output?
      3. Will I need different software or a newer version of Final Cut Pro for editing (I have the most recent version of FCP)?
      4. Will I need special upgrades/applications to author HD DVD’s?
      5. What, if any, mass HD DVD duplication hardware will we need to invest in? Blu-Ray?
      6. Can you still shoot on SD miniDV tape with your HD camera…(if you are shooting something you don’t necessarily need to be in HD)?
      7. Simply…Is all the equipment I’m using now rendered useless by switching to HD?

What we are really looking to decide is…is it budgetarily sound for us, right now, to upgrade to HD production. Have any of you faced these same concerns?

Thanks in advance…any help you could throw my way would be a huge help! Sorry for such noob questions!!