Thinking about switching to HD.

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’m new here so bare with me. And thanks for any advice.

I have been using VX2100’s for about 3 years now for my Wedding Videography business. I absolutely love them. I am thinking about slowly switching to HD. Can you recommend a good camera for Wedding Videography. Obviously something in low light.

Also the format?

There are so many HD formats; HDV, AVCHD, etc.

Which is the best and why (or more importantly) which gives the best output when it’s time to edit. Which is less troublesome?

Thanks everyone.

Participant

Whats your budget?

In my opinion, the new Panasonic HPX300 is perfect for small business. Yea, it’s 10 grand, but it comes with a real lens, it’s shoulder mounted, which is how a camera should be, it records to P2 cards, so you can incorperate a tapeless workflow, and it records so many formats: AVC-Intra 100/50, DVCPro HD, DVCPro50, and DVCPro.

HDV and AVCHD are crappy, I wouldn’t look into them unless you have no choice due to your budget. XDCam HD is a little better, but it’s still a GOP codec….

Participant

To answer your question about which formats are the best, look up GOP vs Intraframe compression. GOP codecs are not good to edit. You would have to transcoded to an intraframe codec during the capture if you shot in a GOP codec to avoid image crappyness.

Inactive

Thank you. I did the research on the two compressions. That was very interesting. Are there any more-affordable cameras that use Intraframe? 2-3k range? Thanks for the input.

Participant

Yea, DVCProHD is an intraframe format. So should look into the Panasonic HVX200a or HPX170, I don’t think they’re under 3K though. If you can’t afford those cameras, you may be able to record HDV and transcode the footage to DVCProHD if you’re editing software allows for that. What do you edit with?

Inactive