The dreaded question of which camcorder…

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Although I’m new to the camcorder scene (in terms of technology and keeping up to date), I’m not new to editing and shooting video. I’ve mostly used the Canon GL2 for my projects. However, I’m moving on.

I want a somewhat better quality in the projects that I’ll be shooting. I’ve seen some amateur films with a professional look all over it (that sharp, crisp look) — but I’m sure a lot of that is in the editing technique also.

I’ll be going down to Peru for a month and will do a lot of recording there. What I’m looking for is a new camcorder, one that will last me awhile (a little more than a year). But the more research I do, the more questions I stumble upon. CMOS vs. CCD? Solid state vs. miniDV? etc…

I know CMOS lacks a little in terms of quality, but has better batter life. But I’m not sure whether I should choose solid state over miniDV. Is this where the market is headed – tapeless?

What I’m really looking for is a great camera at a great price. Something that will produce great quality and I won’t be embarrassed to show my work because of a grainy, non-professional look.

I did look at the Canon Vixia HF10. I was just wondering if this is a good one to consider or are there better? Of course I know there are better, I guess I should include a budget. I’m looking for a camera perhaps under 2k that satisfies these (low) requirements. Thanks for any help or any points in the right direction!

Inactive

What I’m looking for is a new camcorder, one that will last me awhile (a little more than a year). But the more research I do, the more questions I stumble upon. CMOS vs. CCD? Solid state vs. miniDV? etc… I know CMOS lacks a little in terms of quality, but has better batter life. But I’m not sure whether I should choose solid state over miniDV. Is this where the market is headed – tapeless?