System Setup for Home Videographer

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi!

I’m new to this forum and I would like to ask for your assistance. I’m just a home videographer that shoots video of my family. But I want to have it edited by myself. I’m using a Panasonic miniDV video cam.

Now, I’m planning to purchase a new computer to edit my videos.

My planned setup is as follows:

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 2.13GHz 4MB
      Memory: Kingston 2GB DDR 667
      Motherboard: Intel DG965WH w/ built-in firewire
      Storage Drive: 80GB for system / 160GB for files
      Optical Drive: 20x DVD Writer
      Video Card: 8500GT 512MB 128Bit DDR2 PCI-E
      Monitor: 17" SVGA flat CRT monitor (I’ll be using this temporarily)

That’s it. Would I be needing a much bigger memory?

Thank you very much in advance!

Regards,

MILO

Participant

If you’re doing video, you’re gonna need more hard drive space – I have 900GB and find that I have to archive stuff too often for my taste.

You should consider a minimum of 500GB for video work alone, plus at least 100-200GB as a system drive (software).

Also, depending on the software you will be using, you might want to hold off on Vista until service pack 2 or so – A lot of NLE’s don’t work under Vista at this time. XP Pro would be the way to go (service pack 2).

Inactive

birdcat Wrote:

If you’re doing video, you’re gonna need more hard drive space – I have 900GB and find that I have to archive stuff too often for my taste.

You should consider a minimum of 500GB for video work alone, plus at least 100-200GB as a system drive (software).

Also, depending on the software you will be using, you might want to hold off on Vista until service pack 2 or so – A lot of NLE’s don’t work under Vista at this time. XP Pro would be the way to go (service pack 2).

Thank you so much for the reply.