Survey…

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

When I was in School at the international academy of design and technology i studied computer animation. While i was there i dabbled in editing. My question to you all is what do you prefer.. Avid or Final cut? I want to learn one.. but not sure what one…

Thanks

Jimmie

Coreece
      Participant

“Avid or Final cut?”

Both…learn both.

You’ll thank me later. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Start with final cut first….if you start with Avid, you’ll never want to leave.

(Phew!…..that was much easier….lol)

Aspyrider
      Participant

neither

Coreece
      Participant

lol

Rob
      Participant

“Start with final cut first….if you start with Avid, you’ll never want to leave.” Really? That’s interesting. I’ve heard many people say Avid editors will have a easier time learning FCP while FCP editors will have a hard time learning Avid. Seems to hold true – at least in my experience. I learned FCP first and have no desire to try Avid again. The interface made no sense to me when I took an Avid class. All the people I know who use both programs seem to have started with Avid.

When it comes down to it though, both Avid and FCP do the same thing – they cut the video, but here are some key difference I’ve heard:

One thing I hear a lot is with FCP, you have to keep track of your media at all times. You really have to make sure you are organized. With Avid, I heard it takes care of all that for you. You can keep editing and Avid knows where to put your stuff if you import more media half way through a project. When you buy Avid though, all you get is Avid. I don’t believe you get a software bundle like you do with Final Cut. So with Final Cut you basically get a complete digital studio for $1200 while $2500 will get Avid…just Avid.

Something I heard recently is that Avid still seems to be dominant out west while FCP seems to have taken over NYC, Philly, Pittsburgh, DC – the north east.