student needing advice

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’m a sophomore in highschool and I am enrolled in the video production course at my school. I love whaat I have learned so far and am seriously considering video production as a career choice. I have already entered a few contest and am looking forward to entering more. My friend I are awaiting the results from a state-wide student PSA contest, but I have recieved word that we are at least in the top ten. My class uses Gl-2’s and Macpro’s with FCS 1, but I only have limited access to them.

If I wanted to put together a bare-bones setup of my own, computer (maybe laptop) camera, editing software, what would you recomend? I love the final cut software, especialy motion, but it(along with the computer I would need)is waaaay out of my price range. As cheap as posible would be best, and even then this is more just wishing. I am currently saving for a trip next year through school to greece, (lots of shoveling and mowing in my future), but I would absolutely love to have access to materials at any time to both help me advance in my understanding and give me more time to find/enter contests.

Participant

choose between a trip to Greece or an Apple Laptop with FCS2. I’d go with the laptop and software and then study abroad when in college, but that’s just me.

Inactive

my thought process is that If I don’t go to greece next year then I’ll probably never go, but If I do decide to get serious about video, then I will eventually get access to top-grade equipment.

Participant

Just have your parents finance the computer and and software then pay for the trip.

Parents are easy to manipulate when you seem focused and determined.

Participant