Still to Video… Help me decide..

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello,
      I have done still photos for a while now about 8 years. And I consider myself high-end amature photographer. I think I’m ready to move to the video section.

I currently shoot Canon 10D with multiple Canon lenses 50mm 1.8, 24-135MM 4.6, 70-200mm 2.8 IS..

I really like the XL2. But its quite expensive… So, i have looked into the following…

Pansonic AG-DVC30
      Canon GL2
      Sony DSR-PDX10

Let me know what you believe I should get… Or should I just spend the money and get XL2???

Thanks,
      Bobby

Participant

really the choice is less about your level as a still photog and more about what you’re going to do with your video camera. i started off doing photography professionally, but soon after i got my degree in Photo-J i realized that i wanted to do video instead. i got a degree and started working and, aside from learning the theoretical similarities and differences between the two, it wasn’t a big deal to switch.

the main issue, though, is what you want to do. i’m currently working freelance shooting and editing projects for various clients. i have a limited budget so i decided to invest in a Sony HVR-Z1U HDV camera because i wanted something that would last and still be effective in the HD world.

If you’re planning on doing something similar as far as freelance work in small productions and other commercial areas, the best choice would be to go high-end and buy something that’s good quality that’ll last you for a while. i’m generally partial to Sony and the Z1U but the XL2 is also a good camera from my experience. if you’re just trying to get a feel for this and you’re looking for something that you can use for more personal use, i’d say go with a GL2, PDX10 or DVC30. I don’t know much about the PDX10 or DVC30 but I have heard a lot of good things about the GL2.

I hope this helps!

Participant