Starting Up…

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hey guys, the name’s Biff and I’m a photographer who wants to learn videography. It seems like videography is different from photography, the rules barely apply and I can’t shoot vertically with a camcorder, I can’t change views too much, I can’t shake it or it will be very annoying to watch, well… let’s just say it’s way more advanced than photography.

I think I need new gear because the Panasonic DVD (RAM compatible) camcorder (VDR M53) I use jumps and skips when hand held, I also can’t figure out how to transfer the DVDs to Adobe Premier Elements… Should I get fresh gear, or should I start with what I have right now?

If I use the old gear, how do I transfer Panasonic format DVDs to a Windows Vista and Adobe Premiere Elements? (The “full” mini-DVD-R I insert seem to be called a “blank” DVD on the PC.) If anyone knows how to do it, it would be really nice if you give some tips.

If I get new gear, should I get a Prosumer NTSC one that’s Standard Definition but has great image quality like the Canon GL2 and upgradable, or should I get something like a Vixia HF or Handycam to start?

Thanks for the info!

Inactive

Hi!!

It looks like that i found the only other persin that have a DVD cam in the forums. well, first, i think you would go well with what you have now. If you REALLY like it, then you should improve your gear.

Second, the way i edit the videos in the dvd is that i FIRST FINALIZE THE DVD (Be sure that you are doing it right!) (If you use a DVD-RW, no need to finalize), then, i put the mini-dvd into my pc and transfer all the videos into a folder, open Sony Vegas Pro 8 and edit happily. =D

Oh, and if you hear that DVD cams are a nighmare and stuff, dont believe! =D

PS. My cam records in the AVCHD format.

Hope have Helped,

Caio