Starting Out

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hey, I’m just starting out making films. My first project will probably be a documentary After that, I might branch off into something fictional.

My first question has to do with release forms. I know I have to get everyone who appears in a film to sign a release form. I’ve seen a few online, but my question is this: Does anyone know where I can find a good general release form? I’d like to find one for appearing in a nonfiction documentary, a second for appearing in a film that is fictional, and a third forfilming on someone’s property for both documentary and fictional purposes. Since I’m pretty new to this, the releases would have to include the fact that anyone appearing in the films would be doing so without pay or compensation of any kind. I would write up such a contract myself but I’m a little nervous about leaving in loopholes.

My second question has to do with setting up a business name for producing my films. Would I need to register the name I choose? Or would I be a able to just say “An Independent film by John Smith”? Do I actually need a company name or can I just film and eventually sell my final product and enter film festivals under my name alone?

Thank you for your time.

Participant

Your company set up has to do with profit, taxes, and protection. Most of us have set up an LLC or an inc. I have an LLC. As for generic releases forms and other contracts, you can always find em online with a quick search. I admit to not using release forms at all. I’ve just never had a need and the few times I did use them it caused much more harm than good as far as running off otherwise good bites.

I don’t want to give you bad advice. Just stating how I work, especially with documentaries.

Denvil,