Sony Vegas or Adobe Premiere?

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

simple question. what is better for skateboarding videos, sony vegas, or Adobe Premiere Pro CS3, and why? i need something good for slow motion.

Participant

Can of worms alert!

Put five editors in a room and you’ll get twelve opinions.

Seriously, I love Sony Vegas (I use Pro 8, decided not to upgrade to 9 yet) and I find it easy to use and quick to learn, while giving you a great deal of powerful tools that some other NLE’s require additional software for.

For slow motion in Vegas you have two options – Hit the control key and size (drag) the clip on the timeline or for much more precise control, apply a velocity envelope to the video track and use that (you can also use this last method to freeze frame and play backwards as well).

Inactive

Premiere is a wonderful tool, and I have been using it for about four years now.I will say this though: If you are going for slow-mo, after effect would greatly increase the smothness and fluidity of the piece. The reason I bring this up is because of the price. Adobe products are among the best in town but they definitely aren’t cheap. You wouldn’t necessarily have to get AE, but it would help.

If you have the budget for the Adobe route, I would say go for it, because it’s a program that you aren’t going to learn every function in a day (possibly not ever) but rather it’s one that will grow with you as your talents and skills improve.

That said: Vegas was never my thing, but based on what I have heard from the peeps on this forum, it should suit nicely.

Participant

I doubt Vegas or Premiere have good SloMocapabilities. Go with After Effects, which was already mentioned, or by the Twixtor plug-in

Participant

Hey if you are interested in what others say about NLE Check this out by DR. Eric Franks of Digital Juice

http://www.digitaljuice.com/dj_training/detail.asp?sid=349&sortby=&page=4&rpid=0&rvid=0&swid=0