Sony Vegas 11 -> DNxHD -> Handbrake = Best for DVD?

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Editing Sony Vegas 11 -> DNxHD -> Handbrake = Best for DVD?

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hey all,

Do any of you use this method of rendering your files? It’s detailed here: http://www.jazzythedog.com/testing/DNxHD/HD-Guide.aspx

They walk you through the method for best online video, but I want to render the best way possible for DVD. I know it’s MPEG-2 as the final format, but I’m wondering (since I shoot in 1080/60i), how can I get the BEST deinterlacing, and highest quality image on my final renders.

Should I use this codec and handbrake, but on different settings? I didn’t see MPEG-2 as an output option on handbrake.

Anyone?

Participant

If you shot interlaced footage and want the best quality DVD, then don’t de-interlace. I don’t understand why people think interlaced footage is so taboo.

Participant

I’m new to this (being doing audio for years, just stepped into video), trying to learn.

So what would you suggest as best render settings for DVD? Should I size it down to 720 when I render? Before I bring it to my authoring software, in my case DVD Architect.

Participant

No. You don’t need to go to 720p at all. You shot 1080i60 footage. Therefore, your project/timeline should be 1080i60. When you’re done editing, export your Master at 1080i60. Bring your Master into encoding software and convert to MPEG-2 @ 480i60 Anamorphic with Upper field dominance. Also encode a .AC3 file for the audio stream. Finally, bring the resulting MPEG-2 and .AC3 files into your DVD Authoring program.

Participant

Hi Shaun,

I just scanned through the info at the link you provided and I don’t see where it has anything to do with creating a DVD, as the workflow is aimed at H.264 web video.