sony dvd camcorder

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am new to video editing. What video editing software can I use with a sony dvd camcorder? What is the best way to preserve the quality of the movies on the dvd when I move them into the software for editing purposes.
      Thanks,
      SY

Inactive

Hi SY,

The only way to fully preserve the mpeg format of the movies on DVD are not to edit them at all.

Mpeg 2 (DVD format) uses a special method (called a codec) to record video. Basically, it saves memory by only changing the pixels on the screen that are modified.

For a simple example, let’s assume that there’s a red "ball" bouncing through a scene featuring green, unmoving grass. here’s a little picture I put together to help make my point.

The set of images on the top are consecutive "frames" from a movie about our little red ball in an uncompressed format. Note that every frame contains 100% of the data.

The set on the bottom represent how the Mpeg2 codec stores video. It starts by capturing a whole image. From that point on, until it’s told to do so again, the consecutive frames only contain the data that changes in each picture. In the example, the larger portion of white "empty" space is the grass that the codec doesn’t need to draw again because it doesn’t change. The smaller section of white is where the red from the ball on the previous frame overlapped the red on the current frame, so the computer doesn’t record this.

As you can see, this makes the file much smaller. On frames 5 and 8, there is almost no change whatsoever, making those frames very compact. This is why we can watch a whole two hour movie on one roughly 5GB disk, instead of needing 10 such discs, or a much larger disc (remember the old "Laserdiscs?"-The need for those huge disks died when mpeg2 came out).