Solo Euroasia bicycle tour – How to film it?

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi All

I am new to video making and I dont even have my first camera yet (bought a Canon HFS10, in transit).

I am about to start my bicycle tour on the 11th Aug, it will be from Beijing to Amsterdam via Silkroute, central Asia, Iran, Turkey, Mediterranean coast, France.

Obviously I need some advice about how to make a good video, or documentary, I dont even know where to start, I searched youtube butthe effort was in vain, I think I have keyed irrelevant keywords.

Can someone please help?

Thank you for your time.

Albert

Inactive

Wow! Big trip! Filmming your own trip is quite hard because you have to do a trip at the same time. I will be filming my trip to Nova Scotia in a few weeks…

You will be alone right? That makes things a bit more complicated. You won’t be able to get shots of yourself biking unless you waste your time setting a tripod. (this could be done a few times) You might want to buy a helmet cam or set up your camera on your bike. These shot can get boring after a while so try to concetrate on your other activities. Visiting, eating, sleeping, your daily pains… etc.

To make the video more interesting, it would be cool to have an animated map to see your progression. http://www.videomaker.com/article/14206/ You can add some fades to show the map and yourself at the same time.

An important thing for a trip like this is to plan your video. What’s the final lenght? That makes how many minutes per day? At the beginning of each day, you can recordyourself saying “Day 1” or “Day 2” etc so you won’t be confused when you edit. You can also label each day with a subtitle. What editing software will you use? You will need a bit more than the basics to edit your video…

Hope that clears things a bit. Good luck,

<span style=”white-space: pre;”> </span>Antoine

Participant

Hi The Shooter.

Yes, I will be travelling alone