software vs editing appliance…same day edit…fav camcorder…

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion software vs editing appliance…same day edit…fav camcorder…

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I am a newbie. I need everything πŸ™ What I want to do is weekend horse shows, and cheer comps, etc. sell dvd’s at the show, hopefully same day edits. So I don’t know if I need a laptop, or one of those Magic Boxes that will do it all and spit out a awesome dvd. Just kidding. I’ve been looking at Casablanca S4000, the Applied Magic Screenplay Epic, and Newtek. All of thoseunits are quite pricey. I have been serching online at reviews for weeks and I am so confused. My only knowlege is Pinnacle studio 9-12, but I really want something nicer and that doesn’t crash so much.

So my needs are: 1-Editing system thats portable, (and EASY)a a pro camcorder, I would like HD, and it needs to be something that will be good for working in arenas and outside.

I wish I could just buy a (used)studio in a box, there are just so many decisions.

Thanks Tammi

Tammi,

I do understand where you would LIKE to go with your video business, but just wondered if you saw my message response to YOUR recent message. Otherwise, it will be interesting to see what kind of responses you get.

Undoubtedly, an editor in a box would be your most simple approach. Software/hardware approach can be much more complex, but would likely be needed should you pursue HD production right from the get-go.

Good luck.

Participant

Sign me up for one of those magic boxes also πŸ™‚

I do same day turn around for my church, and let me say first off, it’s a pain in the south end. The key to quick turn around is doing it right the first time, spending hours in post production fixing audio, croping shots, and retaking is a killer. Don’t get me worng, backup audio is a good thing but the key is not to use it.