Slow-Mo Confusion/ Software Confusion

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

The only reason this is such a detailed post, is because i dont want to waste time, or money, and i want my future videos to be exactly like im picturing them. Ok, im just a 14 year old kid and all i’ve ever used for editing is windows movie maker. The program gave me A LOT of issues so i really need a new software. Dont think im an amatuer or a noob or something just because im a kid. I love videography. I enjoy spending my time directing, filming, and editing skate videos with my friends. My favorite effect is the ramped slow-mo, and the regular slow-mo frequently used in “Lakai: Fully Flared”. Could some of the more experienced video editors help me on this one? Which is an overall better software for me to save up for, Sony Vegas Pro 8, or a version of Final Cut Pro? And if Final Cut Pro, which version? Oh, by the way, i’ve been doing a lot of research and downloaded the free trial of Sony Vegas Pro 8, and went through a YouTube tutorial on ramped slow-mo’s but didnt get it quite right. This can be perfected with time and practice but I also heard you need a camera that can record a high rate of frames per second. I’ve been wanting to buy the Sony VX2000, would this be a good camera for my scenario?

Inactive

NLE software won’t make a difference. You want good slo motion, you need a true high speed camera to do it. Vegas is great software. Vegas Pro 9 is available today. I can speak to the abilities of that software. Others will have their opinions on the other packages. The VX2000 is an old camera, i suspect you are looking at a used model. Buyer beware. The 2100 is better, also a few years old. Both are SD. Now, good slow motion also depends on how slow you want to go, and how much the software will need to interpolate frames. Play with the trial versions of the software and see which one you like better.

John

Participant