shooting school events – concert and graduation

• This topic has 4 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 10 years ago by AvatarAnonymous.
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello,

I just started shooting video for school events, and an elementary school concert and grade 8 graduation ceremony will be my first. I plan to use my own digital 8 camcorder, a stand, and a small sony uni directional mic.The projects are simple and straight forward and don’t require much moving around or editing. I am, however,not sure if my equipment is sufficient to produce a professional looking video. I’m especially concerned about lighting because I don’t know what kind to use, since I don’t want flood lights or anything overwhelming – something discreet but that can do the job. Also, I need an easy to work with editing program that I’ll use to add fades and music to the beginning and end, and some titles. Any advice and suggestions?

Participant

You won’t want to interfere with these events by adding lights. You’ll adapt to their lighting.

I’m thinking you’ll wanna upgrade your camera. It’s not that it won’t do for this, it’s just many of the audience members will have a much newer camera than you and if you are trying to sell these videos, well, it aint gonna work. You’ll want to rethink audio too. An echoy shotgun grabbing the room just won’t fly for graduations. Run from the house in this case. You can get away with it with the concerts.

Sounds like regular ole’ Windows Move Maker may be all ya need for post. If you outgrow it, ulead has some affordable solutions then adobe, sony, ect. A quick google search for consumer/prosumer NLEs will give ya more than enough to sift through.

Participant

I have recorded a couple of christmas pageants/concerts for an elementary school, and we have sold the DVDs for about $7 as a fundraiser. Fortunately, I had a lot of equipment that I had access to so I could expand the operations a bit.