Shadowing out a figure/interview to keep privacy technique??

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Miscellaneous Techniques Shadowing out a figure/interview to keep privacy technique??

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi Guys.
      I’d like to interview someone in my comedy skit and shadow them out, like in those cop shows where you’re not supposed to see them or know what they look like. Any suggestions? I am a NOVICE! I have FCE.

Thanks!

Ellen πŸ˜•

Participant

Hmm… I have Premiere, but it might also work with FCE. You will want the original footage on the bottom layer. Above that, duplicate the footage, and use a garbage matte to cut out everything but the general outline of the face. Feather this if possible, then apply a blur effect to the top clip. Don’t forget to keyframe the matte, so that it follows the face.

Now you should have a bottom layer that is untouched, and a top layer with the same video, except that everything but the face is cut out, with a blur or pixelated effect applied.

Participant

When videotaping, make the background brighter than your subject. With a manual iris you could adjust the exposure to correctly light your subject and create this effect.

The iris is used to adjust the aperture of the camera’s lens. Opening the iris lets in more light, to increase the exposure, or brightness, of the image. Closing the iris creates a darker image.

If you already have the footage use the 4 or 8-Point Matte Filter in FCE. Put identical clips on top of each other, apply the blur (or darken up) to the lower clip, and use the Garbage Matte to reveal only the area you want to blur or darken on the upper clip. You could also try the free iSilhouette plugin: http://www.chv-plugins.com/cms/Fx-Script/iSilhouette/iSilhouette.php

There’s a blur technique you can use too…this is a tutorial for premiere and final cut:
      http://thedvshow.com/editbay/premiereblur/

Inactive