Serious novice here needs advice

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello all,

This is my first post and I hope it is the correct place to ask my question. Just a brief back ground I work for a large financial company. I am on the operational side so I am somewhat technical. I have been ask to head a project to record a 10 to 20 minutes segments about the financial markets. They would like this video to be available on our website the same day. I am good with computers but I have no experience when it comes to video. I have a budget of $10K. Can you advise on what type of gear I should get? I am assuming a flash drive based camera for quick uploads? Tri-pod, lighting, wireless mic.

Also, what type of software is recommended? We only use Window’s based computers here. No Mac’s.

Sorry for all the newbie questions. I appreciate any advice everyone may have.

Regards,

Eric

Participant

LOL. No offense, and I wish you the best, but I love how companies are now trying to have current employees who have no video experience do their video work. A 10-20 minute segment? And they want it on their website same day?! Please direct me to the website when it’s all finished. I want to see this. And please understand this is not a shot at you, but a shot at the company you work for. Not the best decision on their part.

Anyway, since you only have 10 grand and will only load this onto a website, I suggest shooting SD with a miniDV camcorder. Sony PD170, Canon GL2, Panasonic DVX100B…all great cameras.

You want to buy a good set of lights. Proper lighting with SD video ALWAYS beats no lighting with HD video. Get at least 2 250W and 2 500W Arri lights. Might want to get some softboxes to go with those lights.

You want a fluid head tripod. Tripods in the $500 – $1000 range will be great for the cameras I listed.