Scriptwriting doubts

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello,

As I said that I am new in this industry .I write scripts but I always feel that there is the way it has to be written. (eg. like a CV has always common layout)
      Now I want know if scriptwriting has a guide lines or principles that people Have to follow in writing it or one can just write on his own way. Please help meon this.
      God bless!!

Participant

http://www.cnet.com/1770-5_1-0.html?query=sophocles&tag=srch

This is a good screenwriting program that will automatically format your screenplay. If you read the help file it will answer all of your questions.

Participant

Wow!!!!! that is nice man thank you so much this will help. please be giving me more tips.

Luis Maymi LopezLuis Maymi Lopez
      Participant

Hello Omtech

You can read movie script here (http://www.filmscriptwriting.com/samplescripts.html) Pirates of the Caribbean is fun to read. Another program you could try is Celtx (http://celtx.com/download.html) is free and easy to use. Also, I have a step by step script guide, but is in my computer (pdf). Send me your email and I will happily send it to you.

Omtech,

Your script will have to conform to the traditional Screenplay or Television (long & short form) style scripts. If it’s not properly formatted, it will be obvious and the majority of producers will pass on it early no matter how well written. Formatting should not be a problem as there are many good software programs like Movie Magic and Final Draft that will automatically format your script for you. Also, there are tons of sites and info on the web on how to properly format a script.