Same day edits

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I just had a bride ask me if since their wedding was going to be small, would I be able to show the wedding at the reception.

I have never tried to perform a Same-Day-Edit.

What is involved?

What kind of hardware/software would I need?

Is there some special trick to it?

Inactive

If you are doing a one camera shoot, loop the audio/video to a DVD recorder and play the raw footage. Rushing an edit can be a nightmare. The Applied Magic editor is capable of doing the task but you still mustcapture the video- the time consuming part unless you use a hard drive to capture at the wedding.

My advice- say no unless they want raw footage shown. Don’t forget to charge for the nightmares they create!

Participant

I do a multimedia show with stills and video.

Capture straight to hard drive (laptop+ext firewire drive, or firestore).

get a video jockey program ( I’m still learning Module 8). and a projector.

Participant

You say to use a Firewire. Do you mean to capture the footage live during the wedding via firewire?

So I guess there is no easy way to do this, unless I have an extra person to film while I’m sitting there editing? My video shoots usually consist of finishing up the church filming and rushing to the reception sight before the bride and groom get there so that I can film their enterences.

There is just not a lot of time.

Inactive

I wouldn’t do it. The bride is emotional at this point- no further comment. Most of the reception attendees were at the wedding and may want to enjoy the reception without re-runs. If anything is shown, maybe the vows. If it’s a small and short wedding you probably won’t make enough to warrant the headaches. Never risk messing up the master.

Keith Breazeal/Flight Video Magazine http://http://www.kbvp.com

Participant

When you capture straight to hard drve, you will be capturing to dv tape at the same time….