Roll-off filter on Sennheiser mic

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am new to this industry and don’t understand the roll-off filter function 100%.The manual’s instuction is verry little. It states the following: “the bass roll-off filter effectively rejects rumble, handling, pop and wind noise as well as reducing the proximity effect when used in closed mixing situations.”

Can somebody please give me more info on what it does and in which mode is it on or of as the indication on the mic only have:

a solid line

and

a solid line with stripe pointing down

Thank you

Participant

i believe bass roll off is when the mic rejects bass frequencies. It’s similar to the high pass filter in an NLE which allows frequencies higher than a set point to pass through.

Think of the solid line as a representative to all the frequencies in the human’s audible spectrum with bass frequencies on the left and the high frequencies on the right.

If the line dips down on the left, the bass is being cut. if it dips down on the right, the high frequencies are being cut. if the center of the line were to dip, the mid range frequencies would be cut.

Make sense?

Participant

As Rob said, it’s basically cutting down on the bass fequencies. It’s not cutting them completely out though. That would sound very unnatural. The reason for this is to reduce things that you mentioned like rumble, handling, pop and wind noise which are mainly found in the low frequencies.

Unless you are recording outside in a pretty strong wind, you should probably leave the roll-off switch set to “flat”.