Rode NTG-2 for wedding Ceremony??

Viewing 19 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I video weddings on the side and have done mainly smaller weddings. Well I have a few big weddings to do this year for friends & family. I was loooking into buying the Rode NTG2. I was hoping to use onyl that fro the churh ceremony as I am not a super professional at this yet and don’t exactly have the bidget yet to do shotgun and wireless lavalier. My question is, I have read that the Rode is VERY directional. If I use this in a church, aside from catching what I am pointing the mic/camera at, will it at least get the sound of the music/organ?? Thanks in advance for your suggestions!!

Participant

I hope you didn’t buy a shotgun mic yet. If you’re doing a wedding and microphones are an issue, get 1 lavalier and put it on the groom. It is omni-directional and should be able to pick up the bride and priest as well. Many people think shotguns are a solution from shooting from a distance, but that is not what they are for. They are simply more directional.

If you have a decent camera, you should be able to record the lavalier on one channel and the organ on the other with the onboard mic.

Inactive

Yes I did think of that at one point but I have Sony VX2100 and once I hook up the lavalier, the on-board mic switches off. Any other suggestions??

Participant

that’s a bummer. you might want to look into a little field recorder that connects to just a mic. you could set that next to the organ. but if i understand correctly, i think that goes against your initial question since you didn’t want to buy a second mic. in this situation you’d still use the lavaliere on the groom and the one by the organ.

Inactive

So, correct my if I’m wrong….the lavalier won’t be able to capture music at the church at all??

Participant

no, the lavalier will pick up music in the church. I just don’t know off hand how good it will sound. I would guess that it wouldn’t be that bad.

Inactive