Replace PV-GS400 with?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi all,

This is my first post and I’m happy to be among such knowledgeable people!

I’ve been doing weddings for a couple of years now… Using Sony VX2000 up front and Panasonic PV-GS400 in the back of the hall.

I’ve noticed that the GS400’s are fetching about $1500 on Ebay so was wondering if you thought that now might be a good time to upgrade. I’m completely happy with the GS400 in good light situations but it does not perform as well in low light situations as you probably know.

Flirting with the thought of taking the plunge into HD and if I did it would certainly end up being my "camera 2" as I would only be wanting to spend about 2 grand for a used camera…. and it would need to be able to shoot in standard def as well.

So my question is, should I sell the Panasonic and if so, what do you guys suggest I get that will be better in low light and still provide a picture that is as sharp as the GS400. Should I go HD? I’m not necessarily loyal to any particular brand….

Thanks in advance for any help on this rather broad question. πŸ˜•

Inactive

compusolver Wrote:

It’s a painful way to put it, but an honest question and, for many, a very tough choice.

Comp,

Thank you. I’m going to dump the GS400 and pick up a VX2100 and use that as the main. Of course my brides are more more important than the new technology!

I wish I could keep them all and add a third but that’s not a possibility right now.

I might hire another guy to shoot with me though and give that 3 cam option a whirl. I appreciate your help.

Inactive

jb,
      Going for a VX2100 sounds like an excellent idea.
      I’ve seen a lot of posts in these forums where someone is looking for a Panasonic GS400. You shouldn’t have any difficulty getting a good price for it. There is a trading post forum somewhere on this website.
      Good luck, πŸ™‚
      Ken Hull

Inactive

Thanks Ken!

Comp,