Recording Audio: What medium/gear to use?

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Sound Recording Audio: What medium/gear to use?

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’m researching to buy my first camera, which I’mbudgeted to spend around $800 on. I’ll be using it tocapture live music at venues as well as in a home-made sound studio (for youtube and the like). I am a recording engineer, so I’m well-versed in acoustics and stereo miking, though I’ve never done any audio-engineering for film or video. I know that I’ll want to use my own mic’s, but I’m not sure if I want to hook those up to the camera (isn’t there internal noise there?), or should I use an external recording device (laptop) and sync later, or… what are the options? What is commonly done? I trieddoinga search but couldn’t find specifics.

Thanks!
      -Dan

Inactive

some people utilize the feed from the mixing board plugged into the camera or recording device. depends on the camera, you obviously would prefer to have xlr connections instead of 1/8 jacks, if you have to use a external mic on the camera, make sure it’s set up in a shock rig to stave off camera operation noise.

Good Luck

Inactive

If you are working with live music, I would definitely set up a laptop with the soundboard, to get a much better quality sound. You can still use the sound for your camera to edit in later if you want some of the crowd noises, etc… I have experience in recording live feeds and live music, and this has always been the best bet. Make sure your sound card on your laptop keeps the channels clear, and use a line-in, do not use the microphone jack. Hope this helps,

Caleb

Inactive

Here’s a thought…For $800, you probably won’t get any XLR inputs on your camera. I just bought one of these (the least expensive one) and it works great. Since you are a recording engineer, you may appreciate all the specs. Doesn’t mean much too me, but it works great!