Reasonable cam for amateur film-making?

• This topic has 3 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 14 years ago by AvatarAnonymous.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi, this is my first time posting; I just wanted to ask the opinions of some people with more experience than me.

I’ve used camcorders for family movies and such for a while now, but I’m shifting to amateur film production, and I’m looking to buy a higher-quality model. Being a poor college student, πŸ™ I have to keep my budget under a grand, and I’m wondering what the best models in this price range are.

I’ve done a bit of research of my own, and I’ve been most impressed by Panasonic’s GS400. It has a lot of useful features, but it’s not as bulky as other advanced cams; the only annoyance is how it stretches 16:9 footage in the LCD. It’s more than I can afford, however, and since it’s basically impossible to find now anyway, I’m looking for a comparable model at a lower price (without sacrificing too much). Some features I absolutely have to have, though, are the manual focus ring, video-in capability, and true widescreen. Also, more importantly, I don’t want to lose much in video quality (as this is the first priority).

Oh, and as an aside….what’re the main advantages of larger CCDs as opposed to more CCDs? E.g., which is preferable: a 1/6" 3CCD, or a 1/3" single CCD?

Hehe, sorry for the longish post X-D and thanks for any replies!

Inactive

gnish,
      As a general rule, the larger the CCD, the better the low-light performance.
      And, again as a general rule, 3 CCDs will give more accurate color reproduction than a single CCD. However, my first camcorder, a Canon Optura 300 which had a single CCD, had very good color. From what I’ve read, the Canon Optura line had good color for single CCD units.