Raw footage

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi everyone, I’m new to the world of media and film making and Id love to practice editing footage. I dont have a camcorder of my own yet, but should be buying one this summer. I was wondering if anyone here could point me towards a site where I can find some raw unedited footage to practice editing with? Also I was thinking of buying the canon HV 20, is this model going to be of good enough quality to produce semi professional movies and music videos?

Any help or guidance would be very appreciated

Chris πŸ™‚

You can get a used, or previously owned (whatever the politically correct term might be these days) HV20, I suppose, but I strongly suggest getting the newer (and HV20 replacement from Canon) HV30 – if that is the direction you want to take. I was focusing on that camera heavily as an entry level high def tool until I decided to hang onto my dollars (cents, actually) until I come up with enough to purchase either the Panasonic HMC150, or it’s JVC competitor relased this month. They’re much more expensive but with SDHC card recording and more I think very much worth the investment.

Regarding a specifically RAW footage site, I am not aware of one, but there’s probably something somewhere you could utilize in that respect. I am sure a few of the others will respond soon with answers for us all. πŸ™‚

Good luck.

Rocker,