Question about XLR Adapters

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I can’t finda beachtek adapter specifically designedfor my camcorder like I canfor different models -can Ijust use any xlr beachtek adapterI find and it will work with my camcorder? from what i read, it seems that some are designed “to fit neatly underneath” a specific camcorder, and that seems to be one of the only differences,…what happens if I get one that doesn’t fit neatly underneath my model…will it still work, or will it be an issue that it doesn’t fit neatly? This may be a very silly question – I’ve never used the xlr adapters before nor have I seen them in action.

Participant

Yes, the BeachTek adapters allow you to use mics that have an XLR connection with your camera that only has a 1/8′ connection. These kinds of adapters all work the same. So you should be good to go, even if it doesn’t PERFECTLY fit nicely under your camera.

Participant

Not sure if this is the one you’re looking at, but this one is supposed to be universal:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/136400-REG/Beachtek_DXA_4P_DXA_4P_Audio_Adapter_for.html

Inactive

ah, thank you!! i almost got one on ebay that had RCA connections instead of the 1/8′ connection, but wasnt sure whether or not adding an RCA-to-mini jack converter would have messed up sound quality so I passed on it – it’s passed now, but do you know if one like that would have worked?

Participant

In theory XLR to RCA to 1/8″ should work, but I wouldn’t recommend it.

Participant

Just remember that at this stage, the audio is analog and each connection (like RCA to 1/8″) will degrade the signal. I would go with the one that Rob suggested.

Inactive

great, all good to know – thanks to you both.

Inactive

i’ve actually been looking to pick one of these up.. Does anyone know if it has a spot for the tripod plate on the bottom? i would assume it would, but just didnt see anything about it..